Recommended article: My Gender in the Face of Colonialism: A Quest

“When I tell people I am gender non binary trans* femme, I first feel overwhelmed because that is a lot of words, and then confused because I don’t understand how a group of words that I not so long ago discovered in a language that isn’t my own can dictate so much in my life. I was initially thrilled to have a phrase to describe who I am after years of not being able to define myself. These days however, I have been feeling a disconnect with the terminology available to describe my gender to the ways in which I live my life, per my gender. Frankly, I do not even think about my gender that much, it is more of an evolving spiral of production and reproduction as opposed to a set-in-stone definition– And that is very exciting. “

 

http://www.originalplumbing.com/index.php/society-culture/travel/item/621-my-gender-in-the-face-of-colonialism-a-quest

Leave a Reply

